About Us

“The people have the right to clean air, pure water, and to the preservation of the natural, scenic, historic and esthetic values of the environment. Pennsylvania’s public natural resources are the common property of all the people, including generations yet to come. As trustee of these resources, the Commonwealth shall conserve and maintain them for the benefit of all the people.”

Pennsylvania Constitution
-Section 27, Article 1-

Our Mission

Dedicated to the encouragement and instruction of the wise stewardship of the soils and waters of Berks County so that present and future generations may have healthy land on which to live and work and clean water for drinking and recreation.

Our Vision

To become a leading professional conservation organization that provides high-quality programs and services to our present and future residents in our rapidly changing Berks County natural resources conservation environment.


Savannah Phillips

Resource Conservation Technician

Matthew Kern

Resource Conservation Technician

Dean Druckenmiller

District Executive

Thomas Forsythe

District Engineer

Kaylee Olivas

Resource Conservation Team Admin

Jason Rickards

Lead Resource Conservation Technician

Elijah Goheen

Resource Conservation Technician

Jack Anton

Resource Conservation Technician

Joshua Hanna

Agricultural Resource Conservation Supervisor

Jeff Overstreet

Agricultural Resource Conservationist

Rita Seidel

Lead Agricultural Resource Conservationist

Sydnie Harig

Agricultural Resource Conservationist

Samantha Paisley

Agricultural Resource Conservationist

Mason Crouthamel

Mosquito/ Dirt, Gravel, Low Volume Road Technician

Austin Crouthamel

Mosquito/Watershed Technician

Jennifer Brooks

Environmental Education and Outreach Coordinator

Kent Himelright

Watershed Coordinator

Our Resource Conservation team provides many different resources and tools to help landowners including Chapter 105 Water Encroachment Permits, Timber Harvests, Oil and Gas Activities, NPDES Projects (PAG-01, PAG-02, Individual), and can help with Documents and Forms for Permitting. Check out the Territory Map below to see which team members to call based on your location.

Our History

The Conservation District was formed at the request of a group of conservation-minded farmers on August 13, 1946. Clarence Althouse, Curtis R. Bashore, Clarence S. Dietrich, John Grubb and James E. Lesher served as the first Board of Directors.

Over seventy years later, the Board now consists of six members and one County Commissioner. Each potential Board Director is suggested by one of our 13 Nominating Organizations and then appointed by the County Commissioner to serve four-year terms. The County Commissioners Director serves a one-year term and is appointed by the fellow commissioners.

In addition to the Primary Directors, Associate Directors assist in the decision making process and also serve on various District Committees. The Board Chairman appoints the Associate Directors annually. District Directors and Associate Directors serve the Board as volunteers and as a community service to the County of Berks.

Berks County Conservation District 1238 County Welfare Road, Suite 200, Leesport, PA 19533  •  610-372-4657

Skip to content